3D Printed Scout Trooper Blaster
This is my first attempt at printing a usable prop using my 3D reprap printer.

This was printed using ABS on a MendelMax I have recently put together I call "Hello Thingy" http://forums.reprap.org/read.php?129,165312

I downloaded this model to sort out the print process because the scout blaster is small enough to fit within my print bed. The original model was just one of the many free 3D models in the Google 3D warehouse and looked close enough to try it out.

The question I have is how big should it be to be screen accurate? (is this model even remotely screen accurate?)

Quote:The generic measurement of the scout blaster is 21cm long (from tip of the barrel to end of the gun) and an 4cm inches maximum width for the main body. The barrel is 1cm in diameter. The Single Point Scope is 18.5cm long and 3.2cm in diameter at the back of the scope. The general diameter of the scope tube is 2.5cm (taken from http://www.studiocreations.com/howto/bik...aster.html)

Is 21cm the blaster body itself, or does that take into account the scope which sits a little back.

[Image: P1200646.JPG]

I sliced the model into 4 parts which makes it easier to print, but as you can see Im still getting some gaps when I run the printer at full speed.

The parts are ABS, and will glue easily with ABS paste but the best part is they are very light as the printer prints in a honeycomb rather than making them solid, so this blaster only weighs 135 grams
Southern banking clan security engineer
Hi April,
I read this thread on TAG too but here is what i have.

My csout blaster is TPE and all the measurements you said matched mine exact, as far as the 21 cm goes that is from the back of the scape to the fvery front of the barrel.
The scope itself being 19cm long and the barrel being 19cm also. so a 1cm difference at either end to make up 21cm.

Whether or not this is the scrren accurate measurement or not, im not certain but it matches mine 100%